The final film I selected to watch in tribute to Robin Williams was one of my favourites growing up. The ridiculous, slapstick comedy Flubber. I remember the film well from my childhood and being enthralled by the fast-paced and the wackiness of Williams alongside the comedy created by the bouncy green gloop – however I did also expect to be disappointed – maybe the effects would be look super lame? The plot would be full of holes? Maybe it wouldn’t even be funny?

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 17.58.45

Luckily I was wrong on most counts… yes the plot does have a few holes and is borderline ridiculous – for example the flying car – however this does not matter as the comedy maintains it throughout. The comedy is mostly slapstick with laughs coming from Robin Williams bouncing around a room or a goon being hit in the head by a bowling ball… but this doesn’t matter – after all it is a kids film!

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 17.58.54

The effects however do not look as dated as I expected; I doubt if the film was remade they would be able to improve on the flubber as it looks entirely how you would expect it to.Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 17.59.05

 

Flubber is a childs film and I believe I enjoyed it more for the nostalgia than the actual film itself – I think that if I where to watch it for the first time as an adult it would be horrible. Saying that I would surprised if you showed to a child of today and they didn’t enjoy it – so timeless is Robin Williams’s performance.

 

Flubber is a perfect example of what Williams can achieve and will always stand in my heart as on my favourite of his performances.

 

Story – 2/5

Style – 3/5

Technical – 5/5

Enjoyment – 5/5

 

Total: 15/20 = 7/10